NIGHT DEMON: all about the new album ‘Outsider’ and the video of the title

The Californian heavy metallers are back with a new album Night Demon, six years after their last full-length and after a whole series of singles in the last two/three years. Entitled ‘outsiders’the band’s third album will be released on March 17, 2023 through Century Media Records and – now – you can enjoy the video of the title track as a preview, which you can find below.

Jarvis Leatherbysinger and bassist of Night Demonit states on the disc: “Most bands will always tell you their latest album is the best… I completely understand why bands say that sort of thing, and I agree that if you’re not pushing yourself to be better on your next release, then you should just stop. However, I think it’s up to the listener to ultimately decide, and it’s all subjective. ‘outsiders’ is by far the most i Night Demon have ever extended and for this I am so proud and artistically satisfied.>>

For more than a decade i Night Demon have defiantly waved the flag of traditional heavy metal, unwavering in the face of changing industry trends and unscarred by global calamities. With the new album ‘outsiders’the band challenged themselves both musically and lyrically, pushing creative boundaries and evolving their sound far beyond their NWOBHM origins into something truly singular.

Meanwhile, here is the video of the title track, directed by Oliver Barth:

‘outsiders’ is the first real concept album by Night Demon. Indeed, the band has always experimented with incorporating thematic connections between songs in each release, starting with their 2015 debut album, ‘Curse Of The Damned’. On the new record, however, the lyricist Jarvis Leatherby composed a completely coherent story of alternate realities, mysterious portals and the supernatural, intertwined with universal human feelings of alienation, loss, regret and revenge. Inspired by Leatherby’s lifelong affinity for horror films and his pandemic-induced exile in rural Northern Ireland, ‘outsiders’ weaves a gripping storyline from its pastoral beginnings to its heart-pounding finale.

Of course, this kind of epic storytelling requires an equally broad musical backdrop that ebbs and flows to convey the full emotional range of ‘outsiders’. To achieve this result, i Night Demon have reinvented the band’s songwriting and arrangements by embracing progressive elements and a new sense of dynamics that give the music a decidedly cinematic quality. Longtime fans shouldn’t be alarmed: ‘outsiders’ sounds like i Night Demon through and through, but the songwriting is perhaps the catchiest in their discography, boasting massive hooks like those found on the title track.

Here’s the tracklist and cover art for the new album:

  1. Prelude
  2. Outsiders
  3. Obsidian
  4. Beyond The Grave
  5. Rebirth
  6. Escape From Beyond
  7. To Wake
  8. The Wrath
  9. The Last Day

NIGHT DEMON: all about the new album ‘Outsider’ and the video of the title-track | News